Reviews

The most meaningful feeling is that you had one of the best experiences on our tour. That on the day you are here with us, we sparkle all your senses, expose new experiences to you, and glitz your day with lots of touches of laughter.

As we pondered over the years, we realized that the one interest that still drives our passion alive is you and our belief that you must have an incredible time with us.

It is a humbling moment to bear each time we read the sparkling reviews left by past customers. We can never thank you enough for the good words of praise, steady recommendations, and repeated word of mouth, which drive new clients in our direction. Yes, you have been the catalyst that stimulates a steady stream of clients into our space, and these gestures deeply touch us. Thank you!

Here are the selected excerpts from some of the reviews. For easy navigation, we have grouped it into segments.

Review Summary

Tripadvisor Reviews

EXCELLENT
505 reviews on
jac v
jac v
2023-10-04
super ervaring op de fiets door het platteland van Balik Pulau Wij hebben een super leuke fietstocht gehad door het platteland van Balik Pulau. P en S geven heel veel uitleg over het leven in de Hamlets. Onderweg vielen wij midden in een bruiloft, hebben wij thee gedronken bij de plaatselijke kroeg, uitleg gehad over de palmplantages en de visserij. Als je van fietsen houdt en aan de drukte van George Town wil ontsnappen is de trip een echte aanrader. Ook leuk om achteraf nog filmpjes en foto’s te krijgen, je hoeft dus dit niet zelf te doen. Kan je meer genieten van alles om je heen
Navigate07461808757
Navigate07461808757
2023-09-26
Fantastic guides and unique program We have had an amazing time with the Matahari guides! We booked a cycling tour in the countryside of Penang. On the tour, the guides showed us the beautiful nature and brought us to some villages around the area. We got to know how the locals live by visiting some private houses, visited some local shrines, learned a lot about the local agriculture, production of shrimp paste, cosmetics and palm oil, and got treated to a lot of local food and delicacies. The experience had a very unique and non-touristy feel, which is exactly what we like. The guides were exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable. They adapted well to our pace, reacted spontaneously to our interests and wishes, and could offer answer to all of our curious questions. We thank them sincerely for their great hospitality! Overall, we had a grand time. We can definitely recommend and would gladly book with them again!
Teng o
Teng o
2023-09-09
Penang- one tour to rule them all I wanted to express my heartfelt appreciation for the exceptional tour experience my teenage daughter and I had in Penang recently. It’s quite remarkable because, even though I’m originally a Penang local, I found myself rediscovering my hometown in ways I never imagined. Joining the tour 25+ years after leaving Penang, I expected it to be a delightful way to introduce my daughter to the true Penangist lifestyle. However, what I didn’t expect was that I would be the one benefiting immensely from it. This tour was worth every penny spent. Exploring places I had never been to or likely would not have visited if not for the tour opened my eyes to a side of Penang I had previously missed out on. The thoughtful design of the tour, which integrated us into the local community by visiting their homes and farms, allowed us to truly immerse ourselves in the culture and land of Penang. I must say, it felt like “One tour to rule them all.” Princilia and SJ’s storytelling and their deep knowledge and love of Penang’s history were not only easy to digest but also essential in understanding the identity of Penang. Their passion for sharing the rich heritage of this place was evident in every word. In conclusion, this tour has left an indelible mark on both my daughter and me, and it has rekindled my love for Penang in a way I never thought possible. Thank you for creating such an enriching experience that allowed us to connect with our roots and appreciate Penang even more.
Emily L
Emily L
2023-09-05
Great time! My wife and I had a fantastic time the bikes were great the tracks were awesome Priscilla and Zan were very helpful well organised and very knowledgeable about Penang and the surrounding area. Would love to do it again.
siangarland8
siangarland8
2023-08-28
Baluk Pulau half day tour Great tour. Well organised and every consideration thought of. Princilia and SJ were fantastic tour guides, knowledgeable and helpful. The bikes were well maintained and safe Would highly recommend this tour.
KO
KO
2023-08-25
ペナン島で一番の体験 素晴らしいツアーでした。ガイドのお二人は出会った瞬間からゲスト全員の名前を呼んでわかりやすい英語で話しかけてくれ、最初からリラックスして参加することができました。 プリンシラは、島中の人と友達なんじゃないかと思うほど、サイクリング中に会う人会う人と親しく言葉を交わしていました。そして彼女は、島の自然、文化や経済についての知識が豊富で、野生動物のことや地域文化、持続可能なパーム椰子の栽培、スマトラ沖地震での津波被害など、ペナン島の過去と今と未来について実にわかりやすい言葉で伝えてくれました。 私たちは、70代の母、40代の私、10歳の娘と5歳の息子でツアーに参加しました。事前に問い合わせをし、5歳の息子のために私の自転車の後ろにチャイルドシートをつけてもらいました。特等席に座って息子は大変喜んでいました。 年齢差の大きなグループでしたが、子供たちの体力が限界を迎える前にPJが車でピックアップしてゴールまで連れて行ってくれたし、上り坂ではプリンシラが70代の母につきっきりでギアチェンジの指南をしてくれました。おかげで家族全員がこのツアーを存分に楽しむことができました。 このツアーはアクティブな家族にはとてもおすすめです。息子がもう少し大きくなって自分で自転車を漕げるようになったらまた必ず参加したいと思います。
hc284
hc284
2023-08-21
Awesome cycle tour in Penang The half day Balik Pulau your was absolutely a highlight of my trip to Malaysia. Princilia and SJ are amazing hosts and every element of the day is well thought out. Princilia is an amazing guide, super knowledgeable about the local area and plans the most awesome route with a wide variety of stops and things to try, taste and learn about along the way. SJ in the support vehicle met us at the stops so we didn’t have to carry everything with us. Plenty of water, snacks and treats provided, and they even had ponchos for everyone when it rained. And don’t even get me started on the lunch… As delicious and well presented as in a restaurant in the city, but with a much more scenic view! Don’t be afraid of the cycling level, there are only a couple of hills and totally manageable! Thank you for a wonderful day!
I_over_P
I_over_P
2023-08-19
Best way to see the real Penang We really loved the classic 1.1 tour. We were picked up by our bus at 7am, then after a 1h drive we met our hosts SJ and Princilla who gave us a good safety briefing and off we went. The tour goes for 31km but with lots of breaks along the way: visit an animal farm, a local café, a Chinese temple, learn how to make rice-based body lotion, a local house, a cottage business of palm tree tobacco leaves, a palm oil plantation, a wonderful home made lunch in the middle of rice paddies and at the very end: jumping into the ocean at a secluded beach. SJ and Princilla tell and show you so much throughout the day, this is much more than “just” a bike tour. This is really the perfect way to lean about the real Penang life. The tour requires a certain level of fitness because it does get really hot. However, water is constantly available and replenished and there are many opportunities to have a short break. This is a really fun activity if you are traveling with teenagers.
Harriet N
Harriet N
2023-08-15
Excellent My partner and I had an absolutely fantastic time on this tour. The guides were incredibly kind and knowledgeable. We were fed more than we could eat and shown a wonderful variety of landscapes by bike.
Inge v
Inge v
2023-08-14
Topdag superleuke fietstocht!!! Prachtige dag, mooie afwisselende route, leuke informatieve stops met goede verzorging en top begeleiding van zeer vriendelijke en enthousiaste gidsen. Leuke foto’s en filmpjes achteraf gekregen! Echt een aanrader deze fietstocht.

You may visit our TripAdvisor page for more reviews

Google Reviews

Juliana Phang
Juliana Phang
2023-10-15
A wonderful experience! Our hosts, SJ and Princilia, masterfully curated a trip around Balik Pulau that my companion and I will cherish forever. We were handed high-end mountain bikes, maintained impeccably, and our hosts ensured the trails were tailored to our fitness levels. We weren’t mere tourists – we became part of the village. With every introduction, we felt a sense of inclusion and warmth.SJ and Princilia’ local knowledge is astounding: in 1 trip we learnt so much of the local dying trades, agricultural insights, fishing traditions, to deep dives into the local palm oil business. We even got hands-on experience with harvesting palm oil bunches. This isn’t your standard cycling tour; it’s a deep immersion into the heart and soul of local culture. It’s about camaraderie, the genuine ‘kampong-spirit’, and forming friendships with Princilia and SJBy the end of our journey, we were left yearning for more, convinced that one tour barely scratched the surface of what they have to offer. If you’re seeking a truly enriching experience, look no further.
Luke Whitman
Luke Whitman
2023-10-06
What an amazing day! My wife and I joined SJ and Princilla in the morning not fully knowing what to expect. They were both so friendly and began to take us on a tour of the west side of the island. A cycle trip that included multiple stops where they both took the time to share the local culture and cuisine with us. One of the best tours we’ve done anywhere before, a great experience for anyone wanting to see something away from the crowds and your groups.
Catha B
Catha B
2023-09-26
We have had an amazing time with the Matahari guides!We booked a cycling tour in the countryside of Penang. On the tour, the guides showed us the beautiful nature and brought us to some villages around the area. We got to know how the locals live by visiting some private houses, visited some local shrines, learned a lot about the local agriculture, production of shrimp paste, cosmetics and palm oil, and got treated to a lot of local food and delicacies. The experience had a very unique and non-touristy feel, which is exactly what we like.The guides Princilia and SJ were exceptionally friendly and knowledgeable. They adapted well to our pace, reacted spontaneously to our interests and wishes, and could offer answer to all of our curious questions. We thank them sincerely for their great hospitality!Overall, we had a grand time. We can definitely recommend and would gladly book with them again!
Adrienne Umek
Adrienne Umek
2023-09-25
We had such an amazing day cycling through Penang with princilia and SJ. We did the 7 hour bike ride, it was hot and the hills at the end were well worth it to get to a small secluded beach. If you want to see the authentic countryside and way of life in Penang then this is the tour for you.
Sian Garland
Sian Garland
2023-08-29
My friend and I did the half day tour. It was fantastic. Well organised and every consideration thought of. Princilia and SJ were fabulous tour guide and back up driver. It was a hot ride, but we were given plenty of water, snacks and lunch. The bikes were well maintained and safe. I would highly recommend. Great way to see the other side of Penang.
Jari Trentin
Jari Trentin
2023-08-14
Esperienza super autentica, assolutamente da fare se passate qualche giorno a Penang! Organizzazione ottima, sin dalla fase di prenotazione con comunicazioni rapide, chiare ed esaustive. Princilia ed SJ sono guide fantastiche, due persone sorridenti, che mettono tutta la loro passione in quello che fanno. Di seguito il riassunto della nostra esperienza, utile a farvi un’idea (ma ogni tour può variare). Ore 7:00 arriva la navetta a prendervi al nostro albergo a Georgetown. In 1h circa arriviamo al punto di ritrovo a Balik Pulau. Dopo consegna bici e rapido ma esaustivo brief si parte. Abbiamo fatto diverse soste in cui abbiamo incontrato la gente che abita questa bellissima campagna: una fattoria di caprette più altri animali, un villaggio con visita al tempio, sosta caffè e visita di una casa tipica, una casa in cui si producono “cartine” per tabacco con le foglie di palma essiccate. Il giro in bici prosegue in mezzo alle palme con spiegazione di come viene prodotto l’olio di palma e di come sia importante per le popolazioni del luogo. Si arriva al pranzo che sarà svolto in una sorta di gazebo di legno. Infine ultimo sprint con un paio di salitelle e sorpresa finale che non vi svelo 😉. Per tutto il percorso Princilia ci ha guidato in bici e SJ ci ha seguito con un track di supporto, rifornendoci sempre di acqua e di tutto il necessario. Che altro dire, se non grazie a Matahari per la stupenda esperienza. Grazie mille e continuate così! Siete super!
Lise Wich
Lise Wich
2023-07-26
This tour is simply amazing. So well planned out and professionally run. The guides are really kind, entertaining, informative, knowledgeable, incredibly service minded, and just all around super nice people.The bikes are high quality, which also makes the ride easy an enjoyable. We brought kids within ages 10-16, and they enjoyed themselves too.The ride has a really good balance between riding and stops, where you get a sense of the local communities cultures, but also the countryside of rural Penang. We are pretty familiar with Malaysia, but we learned a lot about the trades of the region.The actual riding the bikes was both challenging and rewarding, but still easily done by both children and adult.We’re really happy we took this trip, and we’ll definitely try to do again some time.
Rhiannan Davies
Rhiannan Davies
2023-07-18
Princilia and SJ gave us such a wonderful day through the countryside, we loved everything 🙂 Prior to the ride, you give them your height measurements so they can have their comfortable and great quality mountain bikes adjusted for you before you arrive. We explored a few different hamlets, having coffee at a local cafe (best coffee we had on the island) opposite a temple where Princilia and SJ taught us about some local traditions and products. We were lead through palm trees and rice fields with more interesting stops along the way showing us customs we would never have learned about otherwise. Finishing up, we arrived at Princilia’s ‘office’ for lunch, which turned out to be a small bamboo gazebo (there’s probably a better term for it!) In the middle of the fields. Full of fresh fruit, noodles and nutmeg juice we cycled into town to meet the shuttles that dropped us home.Everything about this experience was special and unique and you also couldn’t ask for better guides. I couldn’t recommend this any higher, thanks guys!
Annie Finch-Johnson
Annie Finch-Johnson
2023-07-08
We did the 4 hour tour and it was amazing! Princilla and SJ were fantastic and very knowledgeable on the whole area. It was lovely to get off the beaten track and away from the craziness of Georgetown to the countryside. Lunch was fantastic and catered for vegetarians. Organisation was smooth and easy.Would highly recommend!
Mark Hartman
Mark Hartman
2023-06-26
If you want to get a real feeling for the island beyond the clogged streets of Georgetown, you should absolutely spend a day with Princilla and SJ—it was the best tour we did in 3 weeks in SE Asia! We were picked up by a driver associate of Matahari for an hour trip over the mountains. After helmet fitting and instruction on the bikes, we launched into visiting villages, landscapes, while cycling at a comfortable pace. Princilla and SJ are passionate about sharing their love of the island with a good helping of commentary and comedy! Lunch is at an amazing secret spot you will absolutely love. You should totally go on this tour!!

You may visit our Google listing for more reviews